During the week I met with my Vocations Director for a brief chat before I get ready to move away to University again for the next academic year. I am just about to start my third year out at the University, however academically I will be resitting second year modules, which I failed to pass last year. This means that I am going to have to do four years, rather than the typical three.

As you can imagine, the idea of having to spend an extra year doing something which you should have already done is very irritating. During the meeting with the Vocations Director, I explained that I felt a bit annoyed at the prospect of still being (at least) 2 years away from entering Seminary and 8 years away from Ordination.

In response, the Vocations Director told me that I should stop looking at what I want (or what God wants me) to do in the future and concentrate on what God wants of me now. When reflecting upon this advice, I remembered this hymn which I quite like, and thought it was quite apt for me  to pray.

Lord for tomorrow and its needs
I do not pray;
keep me, my God, from stain of sin
just for today.

Let me both diligently work
and duly pray;
Let me be kind in word and deed,
just for today.

Let me be slow to do my will,
prompt to obey;
help me to sacrifice myself,
just for today.

Let me no wrong or idle word
unthinking say;
set thou a seal upon my lips
just for today.

Let me in season, Lord, be grave,
in season gay;
let me be faithful to Thy grace,
just for today.

Lord, for tomorrow and its needs
I do not pray;
but keep me, guide me, love me, Lord,
just for today.

